Uplander 2005-2009
This sport-van offers a sporty feel and roomy interior, all in the body of a minivan.
Platform: U-Body

New Owner- 2007 Chevy Uplander

Search this Thread

Old March 9th, 2014, 9:33 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New Owner- 2007 Chevy Uplander

Hello all,

I am hoping that I can join a great group of people who are willing to help with some good insight.

First some details about me. I am coming into the Uplander line of Chevy coming from Saturn; where I have maintained a few S-Series over the years and basically have self taught myself quite a bit when it comes to car repair.

Our 1997 Saturn SW2 has been on it's last leg and we stopped into the dealership today. We test drove a 2007 Uplander today, and while it seems like a good vehicle- I know that it also shares a platform with the Saturn Relay and another Buick. In the Saturn world; the Relay was not a very well received minivan and had many issues, similar to what I have read with the Uplander.

We got a decent deal on the vehicle purchase price and the dealership has also thrown in a 2 year/ 24,000 mile warranty.

This Uplander is a Base model, so it doesn't have very many bells and whistles; but I wanted to see if the few small issues that are present with this car are things I may be able to fix on my own...

Noted issues:
Driver's side Manual Door only opens a short distance before it stops and then you can't open it anymore, but it will close perfectly fine.

Also Driver Side bezel that surrounds the door lock and the door latch is loose and will need to be reseated in place.

Overall, the car has 91K miles on it, and drives good. It's a one owner vehicle and it has been in this same area since new.

Any pointers? We are supposed to sign papers on it tomorrow at 10AM.... would it be a good buy or should we run, based on the issues that I have read that the Uplander has had over the years....

Help, Comments and Thoughts appreciated.
Old March 10th, 2014, 5:11 PM