Volt Get plugged into Chevrolet's electric car! The batteries will take you most anywhere and the on-board generator can take you beyond!
Named the 2011 North American Car of the Year

Chevrolet Volt
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: ClipperCreek

Survey for all you Volt enthusiasts!

Search this Thread

Old April 21st, 2012, 8:01 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Survey for all you Volt enthusiasts!

I'm a college student researching the Volt and its owners. If you could help me out by taking this quick survey I would appreciate it! thank you so much!

Here is the link:
Survey
Old November 29th, 2012, 9:07 PM
CF Active Member

It is an electric car, not a hybrid as many people seem to believe like sheep.

It has an on-board generator as backup to maintain electric operation of the electric vehicle if/when the battery is used up.
It is seemless as all it does is automatically turns the generator on.

Now the generator will not re-charge the batteries.
(I think, however it might, I don't remember)
So once your done with the car, you will have to remember to recharge it.

The engine is in no way shape or form connected to the wheels with a drive shaft, its only an electric generator. Just to clarify that again.

The Volt I believe get something like 40-60 miles on a charge.

You can charge the volt with BOTH a standard 110 and a 240 Volt outlet.
Understandable the 110 volt outlet will charge slower.

Charging stations and things are going up slowly so people can plug in at stores and things, the power grids are being upgraded slowly too.

The infrastructure takes time.

Its a very nice car, I have been around and in them, but I do not own one.
I do however want to buy one as I would never need to buy gas again as I always drive city.
Unfortunately the neighborhood here is bad so I can't have a new car.

I'm assuming you already knew this, but I figured I'd add my input seeing as you posted and nobody replied.
Old June 26th, 2013, 2:55 PM
CF Beginner