Notices
1988 - 1998 (GMT400) Section for all discussion related to the 1987-1998 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

96 c2500 running rough

Search this Thread

Old July 20th, 2020, 1:49 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 c2500 running rough

I am new to chevys and I got a good deal on a 96 c2500. It has a crate engine and trans but has been sitting for 3 years before I bought it. It started up for me when I got it and I drove it 200 miles home. It was running rough the whole way almost like a misfire but just seemed to not be running right. When I got back I replaced all plugs, idle air control valve, tps, and mass air flow sensor. It was throwing a code for the maf sensor. I cleared the code after changing all that and it seemed to fix the problem. It was running great that day and still does, but occasionally it will still run rough. It will stutter and sounds like it backfiring right at the manifold. When it’s acting like this if I punch it it will get up and run fine but when I try to ease on the pedal it will run rough like I explained. The next time I start it tho it might run like that or it might run perfect so I’m at a loss as to why it might be doing that. Kind of a long post, sorry but any knowledge or advice on this would be a great help. Thanks!
Old July 21st, 2020, 4:29 AM
CF Veteran

Received 286 Likes on 248 Posts

Does it seem to happen somewhat consistently (at least once every time you drive it)? Does it matter if the air conditioning is on?

Being able to punch it and get it to smooth out is generally indicative of a vacuum leak, so for it to be intermittent helps narrow it down to a controlled vacuum leak - namely the EGR or canister purge valve could be getting stuck open.

The backfiring noise you’re hearing - is it at the exhaust or intake manifold and is it a very clear backfire or is it more of a popping, like it’s running lean?

Try checking codes again - they can be stored even if the CEL isn’t lit.