Notices
2014 - 2018 (GMT-K2) Section for all discussion related to the 2014 - 2018 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Front Axle Fluid 2016 Silverado

Search this Thread

Old December 17th, 2016, 4:23 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front Axle Fluid 2016 Silverado

So I decided to change out the fluid in my front and rear differentials. The rear went fine with the fluid appearing completely normal. Even has a reusable gasket. The front however was a different story. I was going to put it off another week but when i looked in the fill hole the fluid appeared bubbly. It was just below the fill hole. So i drained it out and it came out grey in color, foamy, and with a consistency similar to a thin pancake mix. The truck has 15000 miles on it and I bought it new. I probably have less than 500 miles with the 4wd engaged. This check was done with the truck cold and the 4wd had not recently been engaged. I am by no means a mechanic but i have changed gear oil in several of my vehicles, tractors, and 4 wheeler. I have not seen fluid like this. I am glad I decided to look. Has anyone seen anything like this? Any recommendations? Seems very odd for such low mileage and usage. I have never submerged it and the breather is intact. I attached some pics.
Attached Thumbnails Front Axle Fluid 2016 Silverado-img_0348.jpg   Front Axle Fluid 2016 Silverado-img_0346.jpg  
Old December 17th, 2016, 6:02 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts