Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Cavalier (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/cavalier-12/)
-   -   2000 cavalier 2.2 starting issue (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/cavalier-12/2000-cavalier-2-2-starting-issue-75594/)

MauerPower November 29th, 2015 10:34 PM

2000 cavalier 2.2 starting issue

Hello, so I've been driving a 2000 cavalier for a few months now and it's been a good little car so far but ever since I bought it it's had this issue where the engine starts rough when the engine is warm. Basically when you try to start it it turns over just fine but takes several seconds and often a little bit of pumping the gas to get her to stutter to life and after it running rough for about ten seconds it runs and drives just fine. In the morning when the engine is completely cold it starts up just fine and if you try starting it within say 10 mins of turning it off it will also normally start fine but any longer and it starts rough. I replaced the coolant temperature sensor thinking the engine might be thinking the engine is cold when it's not thus giving it to much fuel but that didn't help. I can definiley smell the fuel pretty strong once it finally starts. So I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem and what it could possibly be, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Chaddar April 5th, 2016 7:47 AM

Any chance you fixed this or found the problem?

I'm having the same issue and hoping anyone with any idea can chime in. Unfortunately these cars are dying and along with it the online help. :(

cleveland63b April 5th, 2016 8:42 PM

if you can smell fuel you need to be looking for a leak, the fuel pressure regulator is a common issue to start looking at, also unplug the vacuum like and see if any fuel comes out. If fuel comes out then the regulator is bad

Chaddar April 6th, 2016 10:41 AM

Originally Posted by cleveland63b (Post 319666)