Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

Power Steering Pump - questions

Search this Thread

Old February 16th, 2018, 8:17 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power Steering Pump - questions

2001 Cavalier 2.2 5-speed manual 227K

I have been leaking power steering fluid for 6 months and haven't had any power steering for about 4 months. I don't care about it but also didn't want the pump to burn up so I had just been adding 100ml or so every week just to keep it lubricated but not enough to provide any power or pressure. Well I was sicker than I've ever been in my life for the past 10 days so missed one week of adding that fluid - and wouldn't you know it - started the car a couple of days ago and heard the chirping/squealing noise. Went to add about 300ml - and it poured right out the bottom of the pump - literally like I just poured it straight on the ground. So for the past 48 hours, every time I stop and open the hood, the pump is literally smoking. It is burning up. So this has me with a bunch of questions. First - can I just totally remove the pump and not replace it or won't that work. I am assuming that the pump slides onto the deep / interior side of that big pulley - but I didn't know if the pulley will stay put without a pump or if it would just slide right off without one. Second, do you have to deal with the nightmare of loosening the belt to remove/replace the pump? I've herd conflicting info and that would definitely be the hardest part since I have had nothing but problem when trying to get my belt on and off in the past (the motor mounts prevent it from being easy from the top side). Finally - I called a couple of places expecting it to be really cheap and was shocked that they all wanted like $400 so that makes me wonder if this isn't the "easy and quick" job that I had heard it was.

Thanks for any and all info/help/suggestions.