Computer, Ignition, & Fuel Systems Talk about the control module, ignition system, fuel system and delivery, customization and more.

i'm a newbie and with a weak spark on 99 silverado 1500 4.3

Old December 14th, 2009, 7:08 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question i'm a newbie and with a weak spark on 99 silverado 1500 4.3

i pull a spark plug wire and crank the engine.the spark was weak with bright orange/red not blue.then i pull the coil wire from the cap and check it same thing. has anyone had this problem before or can tell me what i need to check.for the last week it was hard to start when it's cold after it crank it was ok. now it try to start when you stop turnning the engine over.i try to search this problem with no luck. thanks
Old December 14th, 2009, 8:38 PM
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I the spark is not blue from the coil, you need a coil.
Old December 14th, 2009, 9:15 PM
CF Beginner

i'll try a coil thanks i seen somewere that if the hot wire going to the coil didn't have 12v that might be it. i thing i need a wireing dirgam do you no were i could find one thanks again
Old December 14th, 2009, 9:22 PM
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Alldata online. But it is more likely the coil is bad than anything else.
Old December 21st, 2009, 9:46 PM
CF Beginner

Question need a pro on this 99 chevy with a weak spark