Engine Building & Overhauling All you ever wanted to know about building and rebuilding engines in here! Remember to post your model-specific questions in the correct section.

Rebuilding a small block 350. Needing advice

Search this Thread

Old April 8th, 2019, 3:53 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding a small block 350. Needing advice

Starting off. I'm just learning alot of things. And I know little, just what I've learned from fixing the truck itself. So please bare with me.

I've got a 95 k1500, 4wd, with a 5.0 305 v8, OBD1. And I'm looking to pull a 350 out of a similar year/make/model truck, strip it, and rebuild it from the ground up. And eventually swap it into my k1500. The 305 runs like a champ, clean, and solid. But its barely has enough power to pull the truck out of a shallow ditch.
Now here's my delimma. When I rebuild said 350, I want to turbo it, for no other reason than I want too in order to have the extra power when/if I need it or want to go play. BUT, I dont want to have to add a bunch of computers and junk. The current idea is to carburet it and have a set turbo, but I'm unsure of the wisdom of this, and if theres better options. My dad who is very experienced in building engines will be helping me, however I thought it might be good to ask a larger group of people. Maybe learn something he might not know.
Old April 8th, 2019, 4:39 PM
I'm here for the party

Received 71 Likes on 66 Posts

you have to have a "blow through" carb. in 96 GM changed to the vortec before that was just tbi till 87 then carb. that being said you can build a good motor for around 2k and you used to be able to buy a 350 that puts out 400 hp/tq for a little over 3k.

Fast, Cheap or Reliable you can only pick 2
Old June 8th, 2019, 10:49 AM
dwm
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts