Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Express, Savana & G-Series Vans (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-savana-g-series-vans-30/)
-   -   1994 Chevy G30 engine trouble.. (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-savana-g-series-vans-30/1994-chevy-g30-engine-trouble-89886/)

1994G30 April 11th, 2018 8:15 AM

1994 Chevy G30 engine trouble..

Hi everyone, this is my first time ever posting on a forum, so sorry if I’m not doing it right or it’s not in the right section or whatever.. Just need some help from you.
I have a 94 G30 with the 4.3. The engine is a fresh total rebuild by a business in Bangor Maine, has less than 20 miles on it, I’ve replaced; full distributor, plugs wires rotor, solenoid, oil pressure gauge, temp gauge, new fuel pump and filter, new air filter, cleaned out throttle body completely, new Idle control valve, new battery, new starter, I’ve also got rid of the catalytic converter altogether so exhaust is clear. and I’m sure there’s more but I forget as I scratch my head in disbelief as it still won’t run properly...
it will start up great and Idle well, has proper spark voltage, correct fuel pressure, it’s timed to factory correct.
But when you put it in gear... it will either just shut off right then, or it will almost die but then correct itself, then when you try to pull away in gear it will splutter and spit and die out if you give it too much gas. If you feather the accelerator constantly it will eventually get up and go, but then the trans shifts erratically, sometimes shifting to neutral, or just staying in 2nd.

If I turn distributor forward about 5mil past factory recommended, it will run much better, and accelerate but still has dead spots and bogs down with full gas applied.