Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

2000 Chevy Express 3500 No Start No OBDII Connection

Search this Thread

Old August 14th, 2013, 4:09 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Chevy Express 3500 No Start No OBDII Connection

First, let me start out by saying I am new to this discussion forum and this is my very first post. I have searched the forum and found "similar" issues to what I have but none the fit exactly, so hence my post. Any advice and tips you can offer are greatly appreciated.

My van is a 2000 Chevy Express 3500 (5.7) with apx. 140,000 miles. I've had it only for 8 months and it has never given me a problem until recently. The first problem was an occasional dead battery. Never could find a reason until last weekend when I happened to walk by the vehicle and hear my blower motor running. Researched online and read about the resistor being the likely culprit. Charged the batter since it was almost dead and purchased the resistor and installed it. Fan no longer blew with ignition off.

However, the van no longer starts. Checked all fuses (in car and under hood) and all looked good. Replaced the fuel pump relay. Still no start.

Hooked up my scan tool to the obd2 connector, it will not connect to ECM! Double checked fuses (including the cigarette lighter which powers the obd2 connector) and again, everything looks good. With a test light I see power on pin 16, which confirms that the fuse I checked was good.