Notices
Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

2010 Express 3500 Engine Compartment Ignition Wire

Old July 14th, 2018, 1:18 PM
  #1  
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 Express 3500 Engine Compartment Ignition Wire

ref: 2010 Chevy Express 3500 with 6.0L

Adding a high amp ignition relay [500 amp] to isolate auxiliary batteries from my original vehicle battery when key is off. Everything is installed but attaching to a wire that is only hot when the key is on or in accessories.

Wanting to find a switched/accessories hot wire [on when key on - off when key off] somewhere in the engine compartment that is easy to get to. Hoping to avoid running thru the firewall and all the way to the fuse block under the drivers seat.

Can anyone provide a diagram, specific location, photo of such, and wire color? Thanks in advance!


Last edited by goyakpacking; July 14th, 2018 at 1:21 PM. Reason: typo
goyakpacking is offline  
Old July 14th, 2018, 1:44 PM
  #2  
CF Veteran
 
StanVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fairfax Virginia
Posts: 1,219
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Can't help you with location, but I've been told the wire you need is one that is energized when the alternator is.

So, where did you put the battery?
StanVan is offline  
Old July 15th, 2018, 9:11 AM
  #3  
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks.

This is to cut off the charging to the aux in a trailer. But dropped the heavy gauge near the rear to add another aux there that will ride in the van.
goyakpacking is offline  
Old July 15th, 2018, 4:55 PM
  #4  
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It seems most FUSE slot sources I would use such as the radio, etc [Staying away from sensors and ECM type circuits]. The FUSE is before the ignition relay so the fuse slot is always hot.

My cigarette lighter and aux outlet are always on too. They are never switched.

I was hoping to tap off the FUSE slot to keep from hacking wiring. Now looking for a Start/Run only source that is after the ignition switch. I assume there is a module these all run through?

I have been in both the under hood fuse block, and the one under the seat.

Last edited by goyakpacking; July 15th, 2018 at 5:29 PM.
goyakpacking is offline  
Old July 16th, 2018, 9:08 PM
  #5  
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Haven't given up yet. Any 2010 Express experts out there with wiring knowledge?
goyakpacking is offline  
Old July 16th, 2018, 9:32 PM
  #6  
CF Veteran
 
mountainmanjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

mountainmanjoe is offline  
Old July 17th, 2018, 2:53 PM
  #7  
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default


Mountainmanjoe That link you provided.....I can't thank you enough. It got me to what I needed. I bridged off the fuse that feeds the heater control and compass modules (works in Run/Crank). Should something go wrong and blow that fuse, it will not disable my vehicle driving down the road. Everything is installed, tested, and working now! Didn't have to hack any wire.

Unlike some other on-line prints that though they said the were for my year, model and etc. Yesterday what I was looking at was close but not exact. The schematics at your link were right on.

Thank You!!!

Last edited by goyakpacking; July 17th, 2018 at 3:05 PM. Reason: adding image
goyakpacking is offline  
Old July 19th, 2018, 1:49 PM
  #8  
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know on 2010 GM trucks the owners manual talks of a plug you buy that fits into a socket inside and you can put up to 30 amps on some of the pins and is switched. I think the plug was 18.00 for mine.
Kenny
ChevyVanMan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: