Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Alternator & Charging 2 Batteries

Search this Thread

Old June 3rd, 2017, 9:26 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alternator & Charging 2 Batteries

Hey Gang-
Does anyone know where I can look to find the voltage output of a factory alternator on my 2001 Chevy Express 1500 5.7 liter V8?
I've gutted it and have been converting it into a camper van. I will be using the alternator to charge the 100 AH deep cycle battery
used to power the "house" stuff. This is my first time doing this sort of thing so I'm trying to get all my ducks in a row.

Thanks for any thoughts.
Peace
Unca_T
Old June 4th, 2017, 10:47 AM
CF Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Try using this from RockAuto, it lists the amp output of all that are available.

2001 CHEVROLET EXPRESS 1500 5.7L V8 Alternator / Generator | RockAuto
Old June 4th, 2017, 1:54 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

You can have it bench tested at a shop that rebuilds them. I had mine done on my 2002 and under full load it went up to way over 100 amps. I was surprised.
Old June 4th, 2017, 2:37 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

if its voltage your worried about for your agm battery; that info can be hard to find. In general most are regulated to 14.2 to 14.5 but this can vary with battery state of health. put a voltmeter on it and take some measurements under varying load condtions. agm batteries can charge for short times over 14.4 but not more than 1 hour.
they may be something at an rv center for controlling charging voltage. Put an isolator to protect your service battery from being drained when the vehicle is off and the agm battery is in use.

Last edited by tech2; June 4th, 2017 at 2:40 PM.
Old June 11th, 2017, 7:25 AM
CF Active Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DO NOT wire in parallel !