Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Express & G-Series Vans (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-g-series-vans-30/)
-   -   Electronic Brake Controller (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-g-series-vans-30/electronic-brake-controller-105716/)

junk4785@gmail.com June 1st, 2021 1:25 PM

Electronic Brake Controller

Newbie here! My 2020 Express 3500 6.0L Pass Van has a factory wiring harness pinned to the frame in the rear of the van. Does it have a brake controller, or will I need to add one? If so, I would greatly appreciate suggestions.
I will be picking up a travel trailer this month! I had to put on a tow hitch already.
For some reason I can't add a photo of my hitch pin!

tech2 June 1st, 2021 8:23 PM

if it didn't have a hitch it won't have a controller. did it have a 4 wire blunt cut or 7 wire blunt cut harness?
the oem factory controller has integrated sway control and fits out of the way...so it a better option but double the price. call your gm dealer to see if its an option they can add. if it can't be added then an aftermarket controller can be hardwired in.
i like tenkonsha controllers for aftermarket

junk4785@gmail.com June 2nd, 2021 8:24 AM

This is what’s there from the factory.

This is what’s pinned to the frame.

LWright June 5th, 2021 2:20 PM

Just went through this myself and discovered to my great disappointment, that that “harness” pinned in the back isn’t for towing …supposedly for a sensor of some sort. Had to wire everything from scratch. Also, the four wires for the brake controller were available up front, but not connected to anything. Also, doesn’t have fuse connectors in the fuse box. Had to wire everything for the controller from scratch also …used a fuse tap to the brakes to get the signal needed. Put in the Tekonsha P3 controller that I already had.

junk4785@gmail.com June 5th, 2021 6:20 PM