Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Express & G-Series Vans (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-g-series-vans-30/)
-   -   Looking to purchase 03-05 Cargo van. v6 or V8? (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/express-g-series-vans-30/looking-purchase-03-05-cargo-van-v6-v8-64022/)

smileyboy March 5th, 2014 8:36 AM

Looking to purchase 03-05 Cargo van. v6 or V8?

Hi, just found the Express forums. I'm looking for a new work van. I went from a 1995 G20 that I had for 5 years to a Ford Windstar cargo thinking I would save on gas... All that did was make me hate fords and make me realize that a Full size van is the way to go. I'm a service electrician.

So I'm looking at getting a 03-05 1500 Express cargo Van. I'd prefer a V6 just for milage purposes.

Any thoughts on the V6, what do I look for problem wise and what is a good price to pay?
thanks

Desert Gringo March 5th, 2014 9:20 AM

by the time you add roof racks to carry ladders and conduit, then weathergaurd roll out boxes and shelving in the van. plus if you ever haul a trailer to the job site.
you will want a v-8 any mountains in your area, or big long hills? go V-8

smileyboy March 5th, 2014 9:26 AM

It won't be towing and I just do small jobs. But I'll take both for a spin. I do live close to the Rockies. :)

canucklehead March 5th, 2014 9:58 AM

Expect 13 miles per gallon on a v8 half ton. Maybe 15 highway if you have the 3.42 gears.
The 03 up has the newer engines which are more expensive to repair. Do some research....
I have an 02 with the vortec 350 and its rock solid, but the 13 mpg sucks.
Also the express is at least 6 foot 9 tall which makes underground parking very hard. Its my number one issue as a tradesperson. A smaller van will be easier to park.
What about a used astro? or maybe go with a caravan cargo? How much weight do you carry?

smileyboy March 5th, 2014 11:27 AM