Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

TOTAL NEWBIE. One problem and many questions

Search this Thread

Old May 20th, 2019, 1:41 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TOTAL NEWBIE. One problem and many questions

Hello

I have been a Land Cruiser user all my life so, you know, didn't have to do much repair over many years. Plus it was super easy to diagnose any simple problems because when I opened the hood I could see all the engine from all sides. Not the case with the Chevy Express.

1. PROBLEM
My 2002 Express has the 5.7 engine with 90K miles on the clock. For the last 15 thousand miles it's been driving like a champ, never missed a beat. Until now... If I start the van on a daily basis it drives perfectly. If I let it sit for around 12-15 hours it starts right away (one crank and engine starts) and it drives perfectly. When I let is sit for over 24 hours it won't start. I need to crank it for half an hour until the battery can hardly make it and suddenly the van starts and from that time on it drives perfectly. I can start it anytime I want unless I let it sit for more than 24 hours.

PROBLEM DETAILS.
While trying to start the engine there is some stutter, something like a hiccup: I crank for 10 seconds, let off the key and the van burps a few times as if it were trying to start the engine. Half an hour later the van starts suddenly although with hesitation. I stomp on the gas and after 5 seconds of hesitation the engine revvs and operates normally.

MY THEORIES AND ASSUMPTIONS.
a. I think this might be a fuel problem. Something causes the fuel lines to lose fuel which returns to the tank. I need a lot of cranking to fill the lines again. Once fuel is delivered there are no misfires or stuttering, even on bumpy roads so it's nt an electrical issue.