Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/general-tech-10/)
-   -   Car lunges forward when started (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/general-tech-10/car-lunges-forward-when-started-42737/)

elpost May 24th, 2011 11:11 PM

Car lunges forward when started

I have a 2008 Chevy Impala LT (4 door, FWD) that recently has started to intermittenly lunge forward when started. The car is in park and it does this sometimes when I use the remote starter or manually start it up. I purchased this car new and it did not do this the first two years that I owned it. GM has a service bulleting out that claims this is normal and they recommend that one always use the parking brake. I do not believe this a normal as I have been driving for 50 years and have never had a car do this before. They say that there is no need to fix this problem.

My son thinks it is a transmission problem which is my opinion also. Or could it be the powertrain control module that is faulty? Has anyone else had this problem? If so, were you able to get it fixed?

Chevrolet Customer Service May 25th, 2011 8:29 AM

Originally Posted by elpost (Post 182283)
I have a 2008 Chevy Impala LT (4 door, FWD) that recently has started to intermittenly lunge forward when started. The car is in park and it does this sometimes when I use the remote starter or manually start it up. I purchased this car new and it did not do this the first two years that I owned it. GM has a service bulleting out that claims this is normal and they recommend that one always use the parking brake. I do not believe this a normal as I have been driving for 50 years and have never had a car do this before. They say that there is no need to fix this problem.