Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

1996 Chevy Silverado Low Oil Pressure

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 2012, 10:15 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Chevy Silverado Low Oil Pressure

I am a newbie and have come to this site for a problem I am experiencing and am looking for the most logical approach. I have read many other similar posts but haven't quite determined my approach yet.

I have a 1996 Chevey K1500 with the Vortec V8. About 2 years ago I had the oil changed just before a big trip (usually change oil myself but ran out of time). By mid trip I was experiencing low oil pressure at idle with a warm engine. When I returned home I changed the oil and the problem went away, for a while. The low oil pressure has slowly been getting worse. I finally took the truck into a shop last week and a manual oil pressure gage confirmed 3 pounds of pressure at idle. An oil change and two bottles of STP did not improve the pressure. I have also been experiencing an occassional misfire (by the computer code) although the mechanic did not indicate if it was random or consistently on the same cylinder. Neither the mechanic or I could hear any unusual sounds (knocking, pinging, etc) from the engine at idle, even if left to idle for 10 or more minutes. And finally, I have rarely but occassionaly smelled a slight antifreeze odor from the vehicle. I have not seen any signs of oil in the antifreeze and the mechanic pressure tested the antifreeze with not indications of a leak.

I have consitently use Mobil 1 10W30 and Fram oil filters. Things I am wondering about:

1. I have considered changing to a heavier oil and/or to a high volume oil pump however I am afraid that I would be just masking the real problem, whatever that may be.