Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

2001 Express BCM location?

Search this Thread

Old October 23rd, 2018, 12:07 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Express BCM location?

Hi,
Have a couple of pickups and cars but I am new to the Express Van.
Recently bought a 2001 Starcraft 2500 Cargo Van and it has some issues.
It often wonīt start, it just ignites for a second or so but never really starts.
Sometimes it starts and runs.
Suspecting the Passlock system and will try to bypass it but I canīt find the BCM.
So, where do I lock for the BCM?

Thanks in advance.
Old October 23rd, 2018, 12:32 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Just a thought, but did you try to wiggle the gear shift. Thinking of the neutral switch.
Have you checked for codes?
The 2001 has a dizzy cap that loves to get corroded. Have a look underneath and see if the 8 points need some emery cloth.
The 2001 only has passlock 2 I think. So it only cares if the key is in the ignition. The key has no chip. So if it fires, then it may not be a passlock problem....
Old October 23rd, 2018, 12:55 AM
CF Pro Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

On my 2014, the BCM (Body Control Module) is in the dash, under the passenger Air Bag.

Last edited by dberladyn; October 23rd, 2018 at 12:59 AM.
Old October 23rd, 2018, 5:57 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by dberladyn
On my 2014, the BCM (Body Control Module) is in the dash, under the passenger Air Bag.
Thanks for the reply.
Removed the cover plate under the Air Bag but didnīt see it. Might need to remove the Air Bag itself to gain access to the BCM. Will try to do that. For how long should I wait after taken off the battery until I can remove the Air Bag?
Old October 23rd, 2018, 6:02 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by canucklehead
Just a thought, but did you try to wiggle the gear shift. Thinking of the neutral switch.