'09 Silverado 1500 Crew Remote start issue - Need help please - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

'09 Silverado 1500 Crew Remote start issue - Need help please

Reply

 
 
 
Old March 24th, 2010, 3:53 AM
  #1  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default '09 Silverado 1500 Crew Remote start issue - Need help please

I bought a '09 Silverado in Oct '09, with the remote start ability already installed (AP8 I think, I can verify this at a later date). I purchased the keyfobs in Dec '09 and had the shop reprogram the truck. I worked with the shop and made sure we got the correct Keyfobs.

My issue:
When I go to start the truck remotely, the user manual states to press the lock button, then hold down the remote start button.
the delay between pressing the lock and start I would have to guess is in the 1/5th of a second (200 milliseconds). Since it has been installed, I have been able to get the truck to remotely start 3 times. Each time I had to cycle the ignition 2-3 times before I could get the remote start to even work. This defeats the reason for the remote start as I have to be at the truck door when trying to get this feature to work.

My question:
is there any programming option to increase the delay between the time the lock button is pressed, and the remote start button pressed?

Thank you for any help you can provide.
Tazrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 12:28 PM
  #2  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Hey Taz,

Welcome to the forum, I think you'll find friendly and knowledgeable people here. I have an '07 Silverado with the remote start and the only thing I found about using it is you have to hold the start button down for a about 3-6 seconds. Once I hear the engine start, if I let go of the button the engine dies, I have to hold it for about a second or so after the engine starts. If I do let go to early and the engine dies, I'm not able to try again right away. As far as programming more time between the Lock and Start button presses, I don't think you're able to do that. Do you have the DIC controls ? If so, I would try to reprogram the remote fobs one more time. You have to pair the fob with the key. It's really simple if you have the DIC control buttons.

Good luck!!!
leevil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 9:58 AM
  #3  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Cool

Thank you Leevil for the welcome
If the all I had to do was hold the remote button a little longer it would be ok with me, but that saddly is not the case. The truck will not even start at all. I did send an email to chevy and to my shock i received not 1 but TWO phone calls back yesterday.

Service Request: (sniped)
Customer Relationship Specialist: Marvin

Dear (sniped)

Thank you for contacting the Chevrolet Customer Assistance Center. We appreciate you taking the time to write us regarding the remote start feature of your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500.

Due to the nature of your concern, I will be forwarding your case to one of our District Specialists who will continue to work with you and your dealership’s management level to have your concern addressed. Just kindly take note of your Service Request Number (sniped) and expect a call from the District Specialist within the next 24 hours or the next business day. I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your cooperation so that we may assist you better.

If you should need to contact us in the future, simply reply to this message or call our Chevrolet Customer Assistance Center at 1-800(sniped). Customer Relationship Specialists are available Monday through Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Eastern Time.

For more information regarding the maintenance and care of your vehicle, please visit www.gmownercenter.com. This free online service offers vehicle and ownership-related information and tools tailored to your specific Chevrolet.

Again, thank you for contacting Chevrolet.

Sincerely,

The Chevrolet Consumer Support Team
During the phone calls i was able to relate that i did have a competant service tech at the dealership, and that this was a programing issue IMHO. They took it seriously and so we shall see where it goes

I will post back if anything changes.

If anyone else has had these same issues PLEASE post and report if you had any luck in fixing this. If possiable i will point Chevy back here if more people see the same thing. Or i might be lucky and its only me
Tazrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:06 AM
  #4  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by leevil View Post
As far as programming more time between the Lock and Start button presses, I don't think you're able to do that. Do you have the DIC controls ? If so, I would try to reprogram the remote fobs one more time. You have to pair the fob with the key. It's really simple if you have the DIC control buttons.

Good luck!!!
I do have DIC controls and the FOB's were programed at the dealership. I had to have them program the fobs due to the fact that my truck had the code AP8 ( remote start prep kit ), which had to be updated to code AP3 ( remote start enabled) which only could be done thru Chevy as it took a programing change.

That is really what you are paying for, the reprograming codes and 2 key fobs when you make the inital purchase. Then then you have to pay the shop to do the work of the reprograming and pairing the key fobs.

Just incase anyone else is reading this and is wondering about the process.
Tazrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2010, 4:58 AM
  #5  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

07 Cobalt ---I recently have to push and hold down the lock button just before and while I push the start button to get it to start. I'm beginning to wonder if a safety sensor (hood Latched for example) isn't adjusted right.
bud61 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 3:48 PM
  #6  
Official GM Rep
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Global Headquarters in Detroit, MI
Posts: 4,161
Default

bud61, I would have the vehicle checked by your dealership to make sure that the fobs are properly programmed for the vehicle and to make sure that there isnt anything else that might need to be updated for the vehicle. I hope that helps you.

Jeff Morris, Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Service is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2015, 2:24 AM
  #7  
New User
Awaiting E-mail Confirmation
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default Remote start

I'm having an issue with my remote starter
Basically when I press the buttons your Hear what I'm guessing is the starter but that's it it won't turn the truck on its a 2009 Chevy Silverado 5.3l crew cab the fob has new battery same for the truck there both good no fuse blow I checked all I'm wanting some other option before I take it to the dealer ship so they can charge me 135 an hour to look at it. Which they said it can take up to 3 days which doesn't make sense plz help thanks
Jwr24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
on1wheel01
TrailBlazer
0
August 21st, 2014 3:03 PM
Chevyguy91
Impala
0
December 9th, 2013 8:49 PM
Eddie4
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
3
August 18th, 2010 10:42 PM
BRozier11
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
4
September 16th, 2009 3:26 AM
bracca
General Tech
0
July 12th, 2009 7:14 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: '09 Silverado 1500 Crew Remote start issue - Need help please


Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: