Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

2000 CHEVY SILVERADO. need advice!

Search this Thread

Old July 2nd, 2010, 12:01 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 CHEVY SILVERADO. need advice!

Hi, This is my first time on here. (:

I'm looking to buy a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2WD V6 and it's at a fair price. The only thing is it has 200K miles on it. This is my first time buying a truck. so Does this truck have alot of life left in it?

Thanks James

heres a pic
http://i50.tinypic.com/2nlenvm.jpg
Old July 2nd, 2010, 3:24 AM
CF Beginner

Welcome chevy_silverado, I'm new to this forum as well, but not new to used vehicles. My buddy has an 2000 GMC Sierra (exact same as silverado) 1500 with the 5.3l and 165k miles, the only issues that he has ever run into with it was; fuel regulator, check engine light on, and service 4wd light on.

To be honest he hardly changes the oil in it, and it seems to be running as strong as it did when he first purchased it with 50k miles. He is extremely rough on it daily and yet still it does it's job down to the T.

Good luck with buying, but if you plan on hauling/towing i'd suggest the v8 5.3l, i've only heard bad things of the v6 (from buddies, not referring to this forum)

Last note, if it has 200k and only 2wd and v6, I would hope the dealer doesn't expect to get more than $6,000 from you, if so than I would pass it up...just my $.02
Old July 2nd, 2010, 10:29 PM
CF Beginner

THANKS, my-4x4

Yeah. It's definitely not $6,000. I've looked on here and seen alot of people with high mileage and the truck still going strong.

Do you have any idea about how much to rebuild the tranny? I know sometimes thet usually go out first. But the truck seems to be in good running condition as far as I know.