Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

95 C 1500 2x4 -> 4x4

Search this Thread

Old December 16th, 2010, 6:00 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 95 C 1500 2x4 -> 4x4

I am new to the GM world, as those of you who read my first post know. I have a 95 c 1500 extended cab 5.7l stepside bed. I am deployed right now and have plenty of time to to dream up stuff to keep me busy when I get back. Since the reverse clutch is shot, I have started toying with the idea of doing a solid axel swap. I haven't been able to find a whole lot of info/first hand knowledge on whether or not it is possible.

-Some guys said it would be much easier to just find a donor truck with a blown engine and straight frame, and then just swap the body. While I suppose I can do that, I don't think i'll be lucky enough to find exactly what I need (extd cab + short bed, right year, ect).

-The other option is getting a SAS kit and procuring the front driveshaft, new transmission/transfer case, shorter rear driveshaft, ect. If I go this route won't I have to replace the rear axel to keep the ratios matching? Anything else i am forgeting?

I really appreciate all the help. Hopefully if I can get smart enough on all of this I can start looking for parts right before I head home. I'll also make it a point to document the adventure and post it up here.
Old December 16th, 2010, 7:21 PM
CF Junior Member

I think your best bet is to find a Z71 with a blown motor (or no motor) and swap your motor over to it. A 2WD to 4WD swap is doable but much more work than a straight motor swap IMO. I'm guessing I read your post correctly..

They're out there. Here's one in my area.
http://savannah.craigslist.org/cto/2091646207.html
Old December 29th, 2010, 12:59 PM
CF Active Member