Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

95 k1500 transfer case, fuse or no fuse?

Search this Thread

Old July 17th, 2014, 8:21 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 k1500 transfer case, fuse or no fuse?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this particular forum and i have a question concerning my 95 k1500 chevy truck i just purchased not too long ago. I bought it cheap with 115k on the body & supposedly around 89k on a 350 out of a 92 dump truck. Originally this truck was a 305. Anyways, i searched the forum and cant seem to find on with my similar problem, or what might not be a problem. As stupid as this sounds, is it necessary for their to be a fuse in the transfer case fuse spot in the interior fuse box. I'll explain why I'm asking. This truck is a project that i intend only to use in the winter time , for hunting, & for towing. I have the floor shifter for the 4wd and my truck is a 5speed. I park my truck when I'm not working on it on a hill that is adjacent to the garage. I spin tire when I'm in 2h on the hill so i put it in 4h to get in and out of the spot, and i can definitely tell a difference. The other day i had to fix a problem related to rear running lights as i kept blowing fuses. I got the problem fixed and just for the heck of it decided to check all of my fuses. Upon doing this i noticed that for some reason i have no fuse, which i think on mine should be a 25amp fuse, in the slot for my transfer case. I read around and the reason i ask if its necessary to have a fuse their is that everything I've read related to the transfer case and fuses blowing seem to leave you unable to shift in and out of 4x4, Yet mine shifts and the top light on the wheel diagram for the front wheels on the shifter light up, but the bottom light for the back wheels don't. So is that all this