Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Bad "Spark plug coil" on Brand New 2500 HD

Search this Thread

Old October 21st, 2008, 2:07 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad "Spark plug coil" on Brand New 2500 HD

I am new to the Chevrolet forum, but my buddy wanted me to check this problem out and see if it is really just a "fluke" or rare occurence as the dealer says. He just bought a 2008 2500 HD with all the bells and whistles, got their biggest gas motor for hauling his camper and has about 900 miles on it. He had just left my house when it began idling rough and the check engine light came on. He took delivery the night before. The first 600 miles were put on it by being driven from Midland, TX to another dealer by a transfer driver. (Personally I cringed when I heard that because I used to be a transfer driver for GM and know how I drove those cars.)

Anyway, he took it to the dealer and they said a spark coil had burned out. I am unfamiliar with the newer motors but have heard of these going out on some other vehicles. Has anyone heard about this happening often or is the dealer telling the truth about it just being a "fluke"?

It sure is a nice truck, but it seems like 900 miles is not really enough to mess something like that up.

Thanks
Old October 21st, 2008, 2:42 PM
CF Active Member

Default RE: Bad "Spark plug coil" on Brand New 2500 HD

just like every other electronic its possible some may last for ever others may be bad out of the box my buddy had to replace one on his 07 avalanche at 37000
Old October 22nd, 2008, 10:25 AM
CF Beginner

Default RE: Bad "Spark plug coil" on Brand New 2500 HD