Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

dual battery

Search this Thread

Old April 9th, 2012, 3:32 PM
CF Active Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dual battery

so i have removed my storage box, and i am ready to drop in a second battery. i have 2 kicker amps runing in my truck, and they need 14.4v each. heres the delima. im not an electrician......
battery outputs 12v, and the alternator brings everything up to 14v. which is still not enough. i have a single 2 farad capacitor wired to both amps and the battery is still draining bad.
i have done some research, and learned that wiring the 2 batteries in series will give you 24v. and parallel will remain 12v, but the second battery will act as a capacitor. both ideas sound appeasing to me, but could the truck handle 24v.? would it be bad for the alternator.? or even the batteries.?
Old April 9th, 2012, 4:33 PM
CF Monarch

Received 336 Likes on 317 Posts

You don't want 24 volts. You will ruin everything in the truck and probably get stuck when it quits running. If you must have a second battery go with a parallel hookup. Anyway you should be trying to fix the problem and not just band-aid it with a bad band-aid.

Last edited by oldchevy; April 10th, 2012 at 11:31 AM.
Old April 9th, 2012, 6:22 PM
CF Pro Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Add another battery and then you'll just have two of 'em draining,

You need a bigger alternator. Or a second alternator like on ambulance applicatons.

Allan
Old April 9th, 2012, 6:37 PM
CF Senior Member

DO NOT DO A 24V SETUP!!!! You'll be sorry, and are likely to void any warranty you might have on the truck.