Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

The engine just turns and turns like it is out of gas

Old May 30th, 2007, 11:15 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The engine just turns and turns like it is out of gas

Good Morning everyone from sunny NY. I am a contractor who does my own mechanic work in all my cars. My working truck is a '96 V6, 4WD, 1/2 Ton, 5 manual speed, and extremely dependable. Since I got it a few years back, that truck has always started right up on the first try without needeing to push the gas pedal. For about 3 weeks now, started to need 2 tries, then a few days later, three tries with the key ignition before it would start; until today, when it decided not to start at all. The engine just turns and turns like it is out of gas, but there is gas in it The truck was up a hill, so I tried to let it roll down the hill and start it in gear, but the truck whent down without even trying to start. It rolled just dead!

So I just called my customer to inform her that I am having car trouble with the hope anyone here can give me some suggestions on what I could check. Is it a gas problem? Is it an electrical problem?

Your help would be extremelly greatly appreciated,

Many thanks for taking your time in reading my post,

Steven
Old May 30th, 2007, 12:05 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: The engine just turns and turns like it is out of gas