Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Leaking Oil & Blown Head Gasket

Old December 27th, 2010, 1:51 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Leaking Oil & Blown Head Gasket

Double Whammy today guys looking for some input.

I bought my truck from a mom-pop dealership 11/05/10 and got a smokin deal on it. Its a 2005 Silverado 4x4 EXT Cab LS model. Almost immediately
I went and got some fluids changed on it (Oil and Transmission). It had a cracked radiator so I had that replaced so it obviously got a coolant replacement to.

So over the past few weeks its been leaking oil and this past weekend I got under it to see what the deal was. I couldn't really make heads or tails of anything as im not a mechanic so I took it back to the Oil Changer 3000 place or whatever I took it to before and they checked it out. Seems, they say, that its leaking from the oil pan. Suggesting its the oil pan gasket. They said they checked the plug and filter and that it was tight still. They checked my level and I was down 1/2 quart. They refilled me up & also showed me what they called "Milkyness" on the oil filler cap inside and on the dipstick.

They are suggesting this could be a blown head gasket? I thought having a blown head gasket meant you'd see some symptoms with the vehicle? Overheating or loss of power or something? Im not noticing anything. Infact I just took it on a 400 mile trip to Reno. Is there anything else it could be? These guys don't do head gaskets or oil gaskets so they aren't trying to sell me something. Ya know..... Thoughts?

Ive put about 2500 miles on the truck so far any no noticable driving issue's. Seems to have power and respond fine.
Old December 27th, 2010, 5:22 PM
CF Pro Member