Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Mechanical Oil Pressure Gauge

Search this Thread

Old September 22nd, 2008, 12:11 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mechanical Oil Pressure Gauge

I'm a newbie here and I'm hoping someonecan help me. I have a '90 Silverado with a 5.7L in it. Last week the oil pressure gauge went from 35psi, which is where its always been to down around 15psi. It spiked up and down a few times but now it only reads 15psi when the engine is running. I thought right away that it was the sending unit. Iinstalledanew sending unit on Saturday. What a pita that job was! After I got the sending unit installed I startedthe engine and the gauge still only reads 15psi.[]The engine still runs good and there is no tapping or knocking sounds in it. I want to install a mechanical gauge, but I don't want to mess with the stock sending unit or where the stock sending is located. Is there another place on the block that I can put the fittings for a mechanical oil pressure gauge? I have a pipe plug on the side of the oil filter housing. Can I install the fitting there and then run the tubing into the cab to the new gauge? TIA for all your help and/or suggestions.
Old September 22nd, 2008, 2:59 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Mechanical Oil Pressure Gauge