Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Stereo Dash Cover Removal

Old February 8th, 2008, 7:52 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo Dash Cover Removal

Hello All,

I am a newbie to this forum. I just purchased a used 2003 2500 Silverado and have a question I hope someone can help me with. I think I have a loose connection on the aftermarket stereo. My AM/FM/XM do not pick up the reception like they should it has alot of static in it. This morning coming to work I hit a bump in the road and the reception got better for a few minutes. I think the antennea connection in the back of the radio is coming loose. OK now the question, how do I remove the dash panel in front of the radio so I can get the radio out of the dash. Am help would be greatly appreciated.

THX,
CB
Old February 8th, 2008, 8:07 AM
CF Active Member

Default RE: Stereo Dash Cover Removal

i believe your 03 will be the same dash as my 06. all you do is start to the right of the radio and pop the dash off (just pull lightly) then turn your key on and set your steering wheel to the lowest position it will adjust to. then carefully continue to pull the dash off. should be around 6-10 little "nipples" that will pop off. then there should be 3 7mm screws to unscrew the radio to remove it from its holder. dont pull to hard becasue the antenna wire is very short. then just reverse the procedure to put it back. however, be careful when putting the dash back it is tedious.

i had the single disc player so the bose 6 disc might be different.
Old February 8th, 2008, 9:19 AM
CF Senior Member

PM me if messing with the connection on the anntena doesnt work, Ill help you trouble shoot it.
Old February 8th, 2008, 10:10 AM
CF Beginner

Will do, Thank You.
Old February 9th, 2008, 12:21 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts