Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Vortec 7.4 hot start vapor lock ?

Search this Thread

Old May 16th, 2013, 9:06 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vortec 7.4 hot start vapor lock ?

I have a 99 K2500 Sub with a 454 with 95,000 miles , Im trying to figure out a hot start problem , Im a mechanic by trade so Im not new to this but it's driving me crazy . The engine starts fine when cold runs great , no codes , When I drive it and get it hot then shut it off and let it sit for an hour or so sometimes when it starts the idle goes up and down - surging between 400-600 rpm then clears up and runs fine . If it sits for less time it's fine . It's intermitent . It's not blowing black smoke on start up when it does it - Im aware of the origanal injector issues . I have installed Bosch 19lb yellow top injectors 4 years ago to solve that issue , In the last year I have changed out , Plugs, wires , fuel pressure regulator, complete new distributer, new cap and rotor , ecm coolant sensor , egr valve, IAC valve , New upper and lower intake gaskets , 4 new o2 sensors ,Delco fuel pump 3 years old with 12K miles on it , Fuel pressure @ 60-63 psi running , holds 45-50 psi over night . Cleaned the throttle body , Ive done the crankshaft camshaft correlation re learn with my scan tool , crank retard set at 0 degrees , It really only has this issue in the summer , winter it's fine , The only thing I cant rule out is vapor lock when it sits when parked hot . I have a Maxdius scan tool and everything checks out . Im out of ideas . Im AZ we have 10% ethanol blended gas that may be the cause ? I really think the fuel in the rail is boiling when it sits when it hot , I would like to hear any ideas you have on this .
Old May 16th, 2013, 12:00 PM
CF Monarch

Received 138 Likes on 130 Posts