Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Tahoe & Suburban (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/tahoe-suburban-25/)
-   -   Tahoe and E85 fuel (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/tahoe-suburban-25/tahoe-e85-fuel-5231/)

Wags February 4th, 2007 6:21 PM

Tahoe and E85 fuel

I just bought a 2001 Tahoe LT 4wdwith 76,000 miles. Very nice, has 22" rims, which are a bit too much for my liking so they coming off (I'll post some pics of truck before that). My only question is it is not one of the flex fuel Tahoe's. I'd be interested in knowing what is needed to convert it for future E85use. I am told that mainly the rubber fuel lines are needing replacing, but not 100% sure.

doo600 February 4th, 2007 6:39 PM

RE: Tahoe and E85 fuel

I'm no expert but I'm guessing this is really not worth it. The E85 vehicle must be run for a short time for the computer to aquire the proper settings. Because of this I would imagine it would need a new computer E85 capable.

73shark February 5th, 2007 1:52 AM

Pretty much all of your gaskets & seals in the fuel delivery system and some metal parts that aren't protected. Alcohol is a mild acid and therefore will attack metal.

engine2 February 5th, 2007 2:56 AM

I am curious myself. I have a feeling it would cost more than we would guess.

Wags February 5th, 2007 1:47 PM

I am going to check with a dealer. I'll get back.

Stingray February 6th, 2007 6:11 PM

ORIGINAL: 73shark

Pretty much all of your gaskets & seals in the fuel delivery system and some metal parts that aren't protected. Alcohol is a mild acid and therefore will attack metal.
Shark is abosolutely correct. Takes a complete overhaul of the fuel system. From what I've read even the injectors are different. Not worth the effort IMHO.

shnormo February 13th, 2007 3:50 PM