Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Tahoe & Suburban (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/tahoe-suburban-25/)
-   -   Towing with 2005 Suburban (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/tahoe-suburban-25/towing-2005-suburban-50380/)

tsenior May 3rd, 2012 11:53 AM

Towing with 2005 Suburban

Hi,
This is my first time posting here. I have a 2005 Suburban and I'm planning a trip out West this summer. I would like to pull an 8,000 lb camper.

I called Cheverolet twice (to see if I would get a different answer) at (866)222-1020 and after 10 minutes of being on hold, lo and behold, they gave me two different towing capacity weights.

The first time they told me that my vechile can tow 8400lbs. They second time they told me 7400lbs.

Does anybody have experience with pulling this amount of weight and distance with this vechile?

Thanks,
T.

jeffsw6 May 3rd, 2012 12:42 PM

I have a 2005 Suburban 5.3 3.42 4x4 and do a lot of towing with it. I recently bought a larger enclosed trailer and shortly after that, a tougher truck to tow it with, because the Suburban hates it. The trailer weighs around 4000# empty and has a very large front area (similar to a big camper/TT) so there is a lot of wind resistance to contend with.

I found that I was in 2nd gear more than 4th gear on a relatively flat stretch of I-75 and I-64 in Kentucky, keeping up with highway traffic around 70 - 80 MPH. If I would have been happy going a little slower, I think it would have been fine in 3rd gear, but I don't like being the guy who is slowing everybody else down and creating clumps of enraged drivers around me!