Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

nitrogen on tires

Search this Thread

Old April 1st, 2009, 10:11 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default nitrogen on tires

I'm new to this nitrogen air on tires because my old car has ordinary air on it.

Just got a question on this.

Is it OK If I fill it with ordinary air as soon as my tire pressure goes down? Or do I have to inflate the entire tire and put ordinary air?

I live in toronto area and I don't know what are it's advantages on cold weather.
Old April 1st, 2009, 1:38 PM
Super Moderator

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

I was curious, so I researched this. Nitrogen is @ 98% pure, if you purchase it to put it in your tires. If you put "air" in your tires, it's 84% nitrogen already, and they are fat molecules compared to oxygen, which is what generally leaks out of your tires. So every time you fill with "air", you're increasing the nitrogen mix to very close to the 98% for which they charge you extra.

IMO, a waste of money, because if you refill your tires regularly, you've got mostly nitrogen by now anyway.
Old April 1st, 2009, 4:15 PM
CF Monarch

Received 26 Likes on 9 Posts

I've heard it rides better and increases fuel economy.
Whether it rides better, I don't know. I have never ridden on a N fill.
The only thing that would increase your fuel economy is getting the pressure in your tires more precise than you can get it with a cheap pressure gauge. That in itself has nothing to do with what its filled with.
Old April 1st, 2009, 9:34 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Exactly what river and evan said....Its a bigger molecule so when\if it does leak, it'll leak slower.
So my having slower leaking tires, they stay at proper pressures longer giving you a smoother ride, better gas mileage etc etc etc.