01 silverado 1500 misfire - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

01 silverado 1500 misfire


  Reply  
  #1  
Old  April 5th, 2012, 6:29 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
01 silverado 1500 misfire

i have a 2001 silverado 1500 5.3L and i am having problems with a random/multiple cylinder misfire. ive changed the spark plugs (AC Delco), replaced the intake manifold gasket, and checked the fuel pressure and checked for moisture in the fuel. the misfire also seems to be occurring on the drivers side only. any ideas on how to resolve this?? thanks.

  #2  
Old  April 5th, 2012, 7:40 PM
  • Super Moderator
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Posts: 2,164
    Highlands
Changed wires too? Could be messed up in the boot and not even know it

  #3  
Old  April 5th, 2012, 8:06 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
The wires are fairly new. (2-3 years)

  #4  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 11:52 AM
  • CF Addict
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 2,056
    Miami, FL.
Are you getting a check engine light? The wires could still be bad with 2 or 3 years on them. I always say do not overlook the obvious!

  #5  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 12:12 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
Yes. My light flashes to show misfire.

  #6  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 4:13 PM
  • Super Moderator
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Posts: 2,164
    Highlands
If it's flashin, then that means a big misfire. I'd pull the plugs and inspect the wires just to be sure. Check the cats as well. My stock ones were clogged and caused a flashin SES light to come on

  #7  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 4:29 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
I just put new plugs in last week hopin that was the problem. I am also gettin a low voltage to O2 sensor code

  #8  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 4:30 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
Wires are very clean and no damage. Good connections to all 8

  #9  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 7:51 PM
  • Super Moderator
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Posts: 2,164
    Highlands
Check that o2 code....is it driver side?

  #10  
Old  April 6th, 2012, 8:55 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Posts: 12
It don't specify for some reason


  Reply
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors