Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

94' runs horrible when warm

Search this Thread

Old July 15th, 2009, 12:14 AM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 94' runs horrible when warm

If this exact problem was already covered, i couldnt find it. Im kinda new at this. I have a 94' 350 tbi motor in an 86' k5. Its been fine for years untill 5 days ago. After driving the truck for a minute or so, as the engine warms up, power drops off. It starts to surge and miss, noticeably even at highway speeds. My mpg has gone from around 15 to under 10. At a stoplight the engine misses and lopes erratically and the smell of fuel in the exhaust is quite strong (im sure its like that all the time, i just dont notice it at highway speeds). Upon accelerating, it hesitates and seems as though the engine is flooding. The engine runs and idles perfect for the few minutes when it is still cold. Even after it is hot, if you shut it off for even 10 seconds, and restart it, it will idle and accelerate fine for 30 sconds, before it starts missing, hesitating, and sputtering down the road and highway again. And of course...no codes. No check engine light.
What ive done: New fuel pump and sender, new fuel lines from tank to TB, fuel filter. Removed, cleaned and rebuilt TBI unit. New plugs, dist cap & rotor, wires, MSD coil, EGR valve. The timing is dead on. Cat & o2 sensor are only three years old. Oh, and the motor is a GM crate from 2002 with only 65k on it. Short of using a stick of dynamite, im fresh out of ideas. I hope someone out there can help. Thanks in advance.
Old July 15th, 2009, 1:44 AM
CF Active Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

first you have to start to diagnose the problem before just changing random parts. saves alot of time and cash.