Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

99 Silverado Z71 random low speed brake failure

Search this Thread

Old May 2nd, 2010, 7:11 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 Silverado Z71 random low speed brake failure

i have a 99 silverado z71, and this brake issue is so wierd. i'm not going to take it to the dealer for them to figure it out. i used to be a tech at a gmc dealer until they closed. this problem happens once a week or sometimes a few times a month for the past 6 months that i've owned the truck. what happens is that at about 5mph rolling down my driveway i put my foot on the brake pedal and the pedal doesn't move for about 20 feet. when the pedal is applied and the pedal doesn't depress, i start adding more pressure to the pedal to get the truck to stop. the scan tool shows all 3 wheel speed sensors at 3mph. the ABS also activates at low speeds. has anyone heard of this issue???
Old May 2nd, 2010, 9:39 PM
CF Beginner

I had the same issue and it could have been very dagerous. My ABS would come on at low speeds and there was no way to predict when it was going to happen. My front right wheel bearing was worn out and was sending irratic signals from the wheel speed sensor and engaing the ABS. I actually rolled through an intersection and luckily no one else was there.

I replaced the front right wheel hub and speed sensor and that was it, good as new.

I would check both front wheel hubs and scan all trouble codes. My truck is a 2000 silverado 1500 4wd.

Last edited by swift81; May 2nd, 2010 at 9:42 PM.
Old May 3rd, 2010, 10:18 AM
CF Junior Member