Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'82 K20 4x4 diesel restoration...?

Search this Thread

Old August 23rd, 2006, 9:49 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '82 K20 4x4 diesel restoration...?

Hi, I’m a newbie, Bob Youngquist of San Diego, CA.

I’m “restoring” a ‘82 K20 I’ve owned for about 13 years. It’s a 6.2 diesel, TH400, 4x4, 117,00 miles, Power Pac (intake and exhaust), Gear Vendor O/D, Selectro front hubs. 3 fuel tanks (one behind seat), Helwig helper springs- rear, 2” Add-a-Leaf- front, etc. I’ve installed new glow plugs, injector pump, starter, batteries and fuel hoses. The body and chrome is perfect and it has a heavy duty Callen steel framed cap and a 3 point extended hitch receiver.

I’d appreciate any thoughts regarding potential problems with this vehicle, ideas regarding upgrades, or any other ideas that the members of this Forum may have.

I’ve very interested in reliability, since this truck will spend a lot of time in the California and Baja desert and will being doing some towing. I’m especially interest in thoughts about a rear locker.

It also seems to have slight coolant leakage; probably, the infamous cylinder head coolant port…? How serious is this problem?

Thanks,

Bob Youngquist
San Diego, CA
Old August 23rd, 2006, 10:04 PM
CF Senior Member

Default RE: '82 K20 4x4 diesel restoration...?