Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

p0449 code

Search this Thread

Old September 12th, 2011, 5:27 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default p0449 code

i have a 2005 silverado Z71, was on my way to work one morning and my display told me to tighten gas cap. i checked it and was not loose. i did replace it anyhow, bought a code reader, cleared the code and the light went out. 2 trips later, it was back on...p0449. does anyone have any DIY advice on determining if it's the EVAP vent valve, the EVAP cannister or the pressure sensor in the tank? I've checked hoses and connections and don't see anything obvious? I've been a diesel mechanic all my life and don't like to guess when troubleshooting, that can get expensive! should I just take to dealer for smoke test?
Old September 13th, 2011, 9:02 AM
Official GM Rep

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts