throttle position sensor - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

throttle position sensor


  Reply  
henz30's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
san dieg ca

January 12th, 2012, 1:47 AM   #1  
throttle position sensor

i have to replace my throttle position sensor. havent called the dealer yet to see if covered under the 100000 mile warranty. but if its not anyone know roughly the cost. its 07 lt3 tahoe

 
Chevrolet Customer Service's Avatar
Official GM Rep

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,091
Global Headquarters in Detroit, MI

January 12th, 2012, 4:30 PM   #2  
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]--> The terms of the Powertrain Warranty are available at: Chevy Warranty Information | Owners | Chevrolet

The cost of replacing a throttle position sensor varies from location to location, dealer to dealer.

Best of luck!

If you have additional questions, feel free to PM me.

Louis
GM Customer Service

 
henz30's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
san dieg ca

January 18th, 2012, 7:50 AM   #3  
i took my tahoe in to the dealer for the tps and it turns out that it was just dirty so i got charged 100 bucks just for that then it was another 200 to get it cleaned. according to the dealer itss not coverd under warranty it a maintenance issue. this 100000 warranty sucks it seem like they find a way not to honor it. oh well never had these issues with foerign cars like mits. but i still love my tahoe

 
henz30's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
san dieg ca

January 18th, 2012, 12:25 PM   #4  
can anyone here tell me if i can get the stock indash monitor in the front to continue playn movies while im driving. any suggestions cus i dont want go aftermarket.

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,156
KC, MO area

January 18th, 2012, 6:44 PM   #5  
Welcome to the forum.

First, for about a $10 spray can of cleaner, you could have saved $300. Why did you think the TPS needed replacing in the first place?

Second, the only thing I've seen to allow viewing in motion, is called a Lockpick.

 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,955
Bowie, MD

January 18th, 2012, 7:44 PM   #6  
100,000 mile warranty is for the powertrain it is not bumper to bumper. The powertrain is the engine, transmission, transfer case and differentials. Not any items bolted or attached to those items. If you engine or trans blew up they would replace them under that warranty.

Chevy Warranty Information | Owners | Chevrolet

 
000's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2

January 18th, 2012, 8:49 PM   #7  
Posted By: henz30 i have to replace my throttle position sensor. havent called the dealer yet to see if covered under the 100000 mile warranty. but if its not anyone know roughly the cost. its 07 lt3 tahoe

OP: What was your truck doing that made you think or that you were told that you needed to have the TPS replaced if you dont mind me asking/



Posted By: 73shark Welcome to the forum.

First, for about a $10 spray can of cleaner, you could have saved $300.
What spray are you talking about? engine cleaner?

 
henz30's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
san dieg ca

January 19th, 2012, 4:12 AM   #8  
hey thanks guys for the comments and suggestions. @73shark my truck wasnt doing anything my engine light came on so i got it read and it said throttle position sensor with the code. a lockpick cool ill look that up.

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,156
KC, MO area

January 19th, 2012, 7:33 PM   #9  
Posted By: 000
What spray are you talking about? engine cleaner?
Spray carb cleaner.

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,156
KC, MO area

January 19th, 2012, 7:37 PM   #10  
Posted By: henz30 hey thanks guys for the comments and suggestions. @73shark my truck wasnt doing anything my engine light came on so i got it read and it said throttle position sensor with the code. a lockpick cool ill look that up.

For future reference, the DTC merely suggests a possible area to start troubleshooting. You really need the FSM which has detailed fault trees for complete diagnosis of a DTC.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics