Venture 1997-2005
This minivan from Chevy offers a sporty look as well as all of the modern additons of the minivan market.
Platform: U-Body

Chevy Venture 2002 stalled because of electrical problem

Search this Thread

Old November 30th, 2016, 12:02 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chevy Venture 2002 stalled because of electrical problem

Hello,

I'm not new to this forum but this is my first time asking a question in the forum because most of the time I could find answers but this time I couldn't. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
I started driving my vehicle and everything looked normal except the battery light in the dashboard was lit up while driving and it didn't go off. Then I was driving on highway my Chevy Venture 2002 minivan ( around 100km/h) and I noticed that the lights in the dashboard and panels started to slightly flicker. That didn't look normal at all and I prepared for worse scenario. And just a minute after this the lights started to dim and flicker and engine was stalling. I pulled on the right shoulder, stopped the vehicle and turned the engine off.
I tried to turn it on. The lights have gone crazy flickering, there was no cranking and the lights were slowly dimming. I stopped trying. I decided to disconnect the battery for a minute and than reconnect it. I did that and it didn't help. Still same issue. Called the towing company and after about 15-20 minutes I gave another try. IT STARTED, though the lights on the dashboard weren't still looking normal I decided to drive. The engine was running almost normal but the lights started to dim until the dashboard and headlights and every other light was OFF but the engine was still running. I managed to drive about 4-5 km. Then engine stalled. I was unsuccessful to repeat the same thing. Gave up and towed my minivan.
There was no check engine during all of this time except a warning light that I've never seen before in any vehicle ( pic. below) Any idea what this can be?