Notices
2014 - 2018 (GMT-K2) Section for all discussion related to the 2014 - 2018 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Reliability and known issues

Search this Thread

Old April 3rd, 2020, 2:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reliability and known issues

I am looking at a 2014 Silverado. I like everything about the truck. Id like to hear from current or past owners as to how reliable the truck is(5.3) and if it has as many chronic nagging issues as my 2006 6.0 powerjoke, before I pull the trigger
Old April 3rd, 2020, 9:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 286 Likes on 248 Posts

I’m not a current or past owner but I am a professional auto tech (independent shop) and more than 1/2 our customers drive GM vehicles so I’m very familiar with their trucks.

That said, my general opinion is that reliability is almost always directly proportional to the care you’re willing to put into it. It doesn’t matter what vehicle it is.

It’s gonna sound like a “Well duh!” statement but the best thing to do to keep that truck rolling is to change the oil on a regular basis and use oil that meets the dexos standard and is the correct weight according to the fill cap or owners manual. The displacement on demand system (also called active fuel management) is sensitive to the oil and will wreak havoc on the engine if oil changes are extended, regardless of what oil is being used.

But even with regular oil changes, there are some known valve train problems that don’t seem to be linked to any particular cause. GM has issued service bulletins regarding broken valve springs and lifters collapsing - surprisingly they don’t always cause major engine damage. There’s also been issues with a connector in the engine bay that corrodes and sets cam codes and the plug wires coming loose (but not falling off) at the coils because of c-clips that are magically missing or damaged (meaning they don’t know how it’s happening).