Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

Power Steering Pump Removal Problem1988 Cavalier RS 2.0L

Search this Thread

Old November 22nd, 2011, 9:43 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power Steering Pump Removal Problem1988 Cavalier RS 2.0L

Okay; I'm a newbie. Trying to remove my power steering pump; I've taken out the three mounting bolts reached through the holes of the pulley; I've also taken off the free line and rubber hose.

But I can't identify the bolts on the bottom of the pump to remove it/them and remove the pump.

Anyone have any suggestions how this newbie can complete this removal without using C-4 to blow up the car?
Old November 22nd, 2011, 9:31 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the forum. Are you sure it isn't just a case of a little tapping to get it loose?
Old November 23rd, 2011, 6:31 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by EinST
Welcome to the forum. Are you sure it isn't just a case of a little tapping to get it loose?
EinST: Thank you for the graphic and welcoming me to the forum. No, I'm not sure it isn't "tapping" This will help.
Old November 23rd, 2011, 11:50 AM
CF Veteran

My memory doesn't go back that far but, after three bolts, the only thing that's holding the pump in place is probably some rust. Try banging on it with a rubber mallet? Otherwise, see if you can post a picture.
Old November 24th, 2011, 11:26 AM
CF Beginner

Default EinST: More water pump/details:

My memory doesn't go back that far but, after three bolts, the only thing that's holding the pump in place is probably some rust. Try banging on it with a rubber mallet? Otherwise, see if you can post a picture.