Equinox & Terrain These SUVs offers a smaller, sportier stance than the Trailblazer, all without compromising the SUV abilities.

Chevrolet Equinox
Platform: Theta

2013 Chevy Equinox - clogged PCV intake and fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old December 15th, 2021, 9:13 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2013 Chevy Equinox - clogged PCV intake and fuel pump

Hi - this is my first post on this forum as I'm new to the Equinox model.

I have 104,000kms on my Equinox and recently took it into the dealer for an oil change. They identified a possible oil leak around the rear main seal and recommended replacing the seal and cleaning the clogged PCV intake (and expanding the air intake hole).

This is covered under GM Service bulletin# 14882 with extended warranty coverage for Equinox and Terrain (including my 2.4l 2013 model). Of course, as many have discovered, the GM dealer wouldn't honor the warranty, claiming that my VIN was somehow not covered (shocking that GM get's away with this - my service advisor suggested I join the class action lawsuit against GM.....but whatever.....).

Anyway.......

I booked my Equinox in for the bulletin# 14882 repairs a couple weeks after the initial diagnosis. After having the Equinox in the GM shop for 2 days to perform the rear main seal and PCV valve fix, the dealer called to inform me they had found a new problem. Apparently, the check engine light was on when I brought it in to GM two days earlier (this wasn't true) and they had determined that the high pressure fuel pump was now faulty and the Equinox would only run at low power due to inadequate fuel supply.

Funny how we had never noticed any issues at all with the Equinox performance (for that matter it had never leaked a drop of oil either).