Equinox & Terrain These SUVs offers a smaller, sportier stance than the Trailblazer, all without compromising the SUV abilities.

Chevrolet Equinox
Platform: Theta

Auto stop/start issue on 2018 Equinox

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2021, 2:26 PM
CF Beginner

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Auto stop/start issue on 2018 Equinox

I've been driving my 2018 Chevy Equinox for two years now and loving it. Got over 70K miles on it already (bought it at 30K). That said, I am now getting an error message, and it seems to be related to auto stop/start, but I'm not sure...

When I stop at a red light, the car auto stops. When I release the break and it auto starts, I'm getting a sequence of these messages:
Traction Control On
Park Brake Release
Service Break Assist
(this message stays until I clear it)
I'm mostly concerned about the last message, considering that my car always shows Traction Control On and Park Brake Released every time I start it up. However, it has never shown those messages at auto start before. That makes me think that during auto stop/start, it's actually shutting down the engine completely for a fresh restart.... instead of just normal partial auto stop/start. I now also notice that the radio cuts off for a second during auto start.... it didn't used to do that.

I have uploaded a video of it to Dropbox, if you care to watch it in motion: https://www.dropbox.com/s/93ugqag3bv...start.MOV?dl=0

I also thought that it could be the battery. It still uses the original. However, I checked the volts and nothing pops out as unordinary. Battery is 14.2V while driving and when it auto starts, it momentarily drops to 12V and then back to above 14V.

I inquired with my local dealer and they said it's probably the brakes, but I just had it serviced two weeks ago and the brakes were fine. They want to charge me $175 just to take a look.