Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

A/C blows hot when idling

Search this Thread

Old June 24th, 2022, 8:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C blows hot when idling

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to the Chevy forums. I have a 2017 2500 Express van that blows hot when at an idle. It only does this when it's borderline hot outside. If I'm at highway speeds it eventually starts blowing cold and will freeze you but when I stop and allow it to idle it'll start blowing hot within minutes. Like I said, it only does this when it's hot outside but if the weather is warm (not hot) this issue doesn't occur. I can hear and feel the compressor clutch kick in when I first turn it on but when it's hot I can't feel or hear anything, other than me crying about it. I had a guy put gauges on it and he said everything is where it should be. He suggested that the relay is possibly overheating and won't allow the compressor to turn on. What else can I look at?
Old June 25th, 2022, 1:27 AM
CF Monarch

Received 262 Likes on 254 Posts

Originally Posted by RobbyMartin
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to the Chevy forums. I have a 2017 2500 Express van that blows hot when at an idle. It only does this when it's borderline hot outside. If I'm at highway speeds it eventually starts blowing cold and will freeze you but when I stop and allow it to idle it'll start blowing hot within minutes. Like I said, it only does this when it's hot outside but if the weather is warm (not hot) this issue doesn't occur. I can hear and feel the compressor clutch kick in when I first turn it on but when it's hot I can't feel or hear anything, other than me crying about it. I had a guy put gauges on it and he said everything is where it should be. He suggested that the relay is possibly overheating and won't allow the compressor to turn on. What else can I look at?