Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

New to Express: possible buy

Search this Thread

Old February 12th, 2024, 8:45 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Express: possible buy

Hi to all, i am new to Chevrolet Express. I am in the process of buying a 2009 4.3L Express with around 125k miles. Body/rockers are, though not pristine, quite solid. That what's make the buy tempting as most Express/Savana up here (northeast Canada) are rusted to hell. And the price is good, about 3.5k US$

I might add that I don have the van yet, so I cant test anything at all.

Had a pre-purchase inspection done and they returned with this (see below). Id appreciate if you could rank from 1 (easy) to 10 (very hard) and $ to $$$ the repairs needed. I am not mechanic expert but I do my own jobs on my Volvo, from head gasket to AWD systems to brakes and suspension. Here it is :

Airbag light on
I know it can be a lot of things. Is the most possible cause would be the front sensor($$)? Fuse($)? Module($$$$)?

Oil cooler line leak
Your thoughts?

Oil pan leak
That one seems quite easy, according to YouTube videos

Valve cover leak
Again pretty straightforward, according to YouTube videos

Timing chain cover leak
That one ?

Steering rack leak
Seems like a harder one.

Disintegrating driveshaft seal at the rear
That one?

ABS light on
That one ?

Thanks for helping! I have to decide quite rapidly.

Last edited by WilsonStaff; February 12th, 2024 at 8:48 PM.
Old February 12th, 2024, 10:55 PM
Super Moderator

Received 653 Likes on 593 Posts

warning lights can mean thousands of different things. How can anybody possibly diagnose what's wrong with it over the internet just knowing that a light is on??
Didn't the mechanic who inspected it run a diagnostic scan to see what the lights are actually indicating?

This car has too many problems. Run away.