Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

NEWB to Chevy and G-series Vans

Search this Thread

Old September 25th, 2014, 6:20 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEWB to Chevy and G-series Vans

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the GM world, besides having a crappy 2005 Cadillac SRX (long gone now, thank GOD!), and I'm in the market for a G20 or G30 van. They've grown on me a lot and I would love to have one.

So, I have a guy local to me with a 93 G20 cargo with only 101k miles and a good amount of work done to it...new rear end with 373's, new shocks, helper springs, wheels and tires, new towing package, and overall in good shape. I verified all of this work at the shop he told me he had all of this done at. The shop told me it was a healthy van and that he put a lot of money into it. It has the 305 V8 in it which I don't mind, but have read that it's kind of underpowered for the heavy body compared to the 350 and diesels. Either way, I like it enough to highly consider it.

Then, there's a 95 G30 6.5TD with 117k miles about 4 hours away from me and this thing looks great. The guy has done the routine maintenance, new tires, oil change, new alt, new A/C compressor, class 5 hitch, but it has an ABS issue he says. I talked with him and he told me that the transmission won't shift out of gear and the ABS light is on. He says he's researched this and he thinks the 2 are related. So, he's pretty sure it's the ABS sensors or the VSS and it's causing a "limp mode" in the trans??? Can anyone enlighten me on this issue? It sounds easy enough to track down from the research I've done, but I don't want to get this van if it ends up needing a whole new transmission.

So, I really want the 95 6.5TD, but if the ABS/trans issue is not worth it, I'll deal with the local guy with the G20 instead.