Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

GM 262 4.3 V6 - Timing issues... maybe?

Search this Thread

Old July 19th, 2021, 2:13 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default GM 262 4.3 V6 - Timing issues... maybe?

Hey guys,
So I'm a long time automotive mechanic, but my niche is European and Asian vehicles, and as ridiculous as it sounds for living in Texas, I've never built an American designed engine. The engine in my boat exploded, and needed a rebuild, so I took up the challenge.

The engine is rebuilt, installed and running, but I need some tuning help. So the boat is a 2009 Sea Ray 185 Sport, and came with a 2009 GM 4.3 V6. I couldn't find a block that matched casting numbers, but I did find a 2002 block in good shape, sent it to the machine shop and had it machined and rebuilt with new bearings, rings, etc etc. I purchased a brand new set of heads (not remanufactured, new production) and installed everything per the manual. I then purchased an Edelbrock Performer intake (for the Vortec heads so it matches) and topped it with an Edelbrock 1409 carburetor. Per Edelbrock, I Installed Edelbrock calibration kit #1485 (which came with new rods and springs) and fired it up.