New Member Welcome Area New to CF? Stop in and introduce yourself.
This section is not for help threads.
Please introduce yourself here, but go to your model vehicle section to post questions and get answers to them. Thanks! :)

Oil leak problem

Search this Thread

Old December 23rd, 2016, 1:54 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil leak problem

Have '02 chevy Silverado with 4.8 L engine. Pretty nasty oil leak coming from above the rear housing. Already checked oil sending unit. Oil is all around it. But is also all over inside "V" around intake manifold. Not sure what would be leaking there. But it looks like it's been there for a while. Checked valve cover gaskets as well. They look dry. Engine has 192000 miles. Please, tell me it's not coming from the intake. I am a diesel mechanic, so I know my way around an engine. But that looks like something I don't want to tackle.

thanks
Old December 23rd, 2016, 3:52 PM
CF Monarch

Received 138 Likes on 130 Posts

Originally Posted by Userhx35543
Have '02 chevy Silverado with 4.8 L engine. Pretty nasty oil leak coming from above the rear housing. Already checked oil sending unit. Oil is all around it. But is also all over inside "V" around intake manifold. Not sure what would be leaking there. But it looks like it's been there for a while. Checked valve cover gaskets as well. They look dry. Engine has 192000 miles. Please, tell me it's not coming from the intake. I am a diesel mechanic, so I know my way around an engine. But that looks like something I don't want to tackle.

thanks
That's my guess, it's leaking
Old December 23rd, 2016, 5:30 PM
CF Beginner

F%#£><.~%^^€<<k S¥¥><~}{{{#%>t CRAP!! And Fiddle Sticks!! Was hoping someone would say that it's this thing-a-ma-bob located here, and don't worry, it's easy to change. Not, that's your problem, and it's a bitch to change. Anyway, thanks for confirming my fears.
Old December 23rd, 2016, 5:35 PM
CF Beginner