Chevrolet  Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/)
-   Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/silverado-fullsize-pick-ups-21/)
-   -   Problem with 2003 Silverado 1500 (https://chevroletforum.com/forum/silverado-fullsize-pick-ups-21/problem-2003-silverado-1500-a-39658/)

09DannyH January 25th, 2011 10:37 PM

Problem with 2003 Silverado 1500

On my Silverado I have an S&B cold air intake. It is the 5.3 engine. Along with this I have a flowmaster exhaust.

Anyways, my mileage has been very crappy (averaging 16-18MPG) that's in the city for around half an hour a day and 2 hours highway driving. I was wondering if I would get more mileage if I switched back to the stock air intake, as I was told my a mechanic in my town that the engine may be "getting too much air." I was skeptical to just take his advice so I came here.

Also, are there any other mods that would be good for my truck? I'm willing to spend 600-1200 dollars in order to increase my mileage and horsepower. I have been advised to purchase headers and a programmer, although since I am new with trucks I don't want to rush into anything.

Thanks for any advice.

09DannyH January 26th, 2011 12:49 AM

Bump for answers.

09DannyH January 26th, 2011 10:01 AM

Somebody has to have some advice with 70 views.

CoffeyLover January 27th, 2011 12:24 AM

Generally speaking, asking for horsepower and asking for better mileage are two completely different questions. If you want horsepower, then yea headers and a tune. Jason over at Black Bear Tune will perform magic on the performance of your truck. But for mileage, you should be looking at a different type of tune (economy vs. performance) and you should perform some maintenance (ie. Seafoam). But looking for horsepower and better mileage.... hard to do.

gotstylez January 27th, 2011 11:07 AM

Originally Posted by 09DannyH (Post 171014)