Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Problem with 2003 Silverado 1500

Search this Thread

Old January 25th, 2011, 10:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with 2003 Silverado 1500

On my Silverado I have an S&B cold air intake. It is the 5.3 engine. Along with this I have a flowmaster exhaust.

Anyways, my mileage has been very crappy (averaging 16-18MPG) that's in the city for around half an hour a day and 2 hours highway driving. I was wondering if I would get more mileage if I switched back to the stock air intake, as I was told my a mechanic in my town that the engine may be "getting too much air." I was skeptical to just take his advice so I came here.

Also, are there any other mods that would be good for my truck? I'm willing to spend 600-1200 dollars in order to increase my mileage and horsepower. I have been advised to purchase headers and a programmer, although since I am new with trucks I don't want to rush into anything.

Thanks for any advice.
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:49 AM
CF Beginner

Bump for answers.
Old January 26th, 2011, 10:01 AM
CF Beginner

Somebody has to have some advice with 70 views.
Old January 27th, 2011, 12:24 AM
CF Junior Member

Generally speaking, asking for horsepower and asking for better mileage are two completely different questions. If you want horsepower, then yea headers and a tune. Jason over at Black Bear Tune will perform magic on the performance of your truck. But for mileage, you should be looking at a different type of tune (economy vs. performance) and you should perform some maintenance (ie. Seafoam). But looking for horsepower and better mileage.... hard to do.
Old January 27th, 2011, 11:07 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 09DannyH